Governance Structures - Human Rights Commitee

Role and Membership

The North-West University recognises the fundamental rights and values contained in the Bill of Rights in the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa 108 of 1996, that these fundamental values and rights must be respected and upheld in the university community and that it should not be viewed in isolation but must be applied as an integral part of the university practices and policies.

The Human Rights Committee was established by Council and functions independently and impartially and participates in its activities in good faith and without fear, favour, bias or prejudice.

The Committee consists of 12 members representing the university community also in terms of race, gender and disability.

It is chaired by Ms Mohsina Chenia.

Contact Us

Job Title

Ms Irma van Niekerk
Committee Secretary          


+27 18 299 4943


+27 18 293 5353