Council Contact


Nomination of academic Employee to the NWU Council

Notice to permanent academic employees of the North-West University who are not members of the Senate

Nomination of a member of the Council of the North-West University from the ranks of the permanent[1] academic employees (who is not a member of Senate) in terms of paragraph 5(1)(d) of the Statute

The first term of Prof Elmien du Plessis as member of Council will end on 31 December 2023 due to her resignation from the NWU and nominations were invited for the election of a person from the ranks of the permanent academic employees as member of the Council in terms of paragraph 5(1)(d) of the Statute.  The rules as approved by Council on 8 September 2022 are enclosed and available at

Nominations closed on 3 October 2023 and nominations were received and audited by Internal Audit. The following valid nominations can be confirmed:

Holm, Prof Johann Erich Wolfgang
Mahlangu, Ms Nomthandazo Renay
Mkhize, Prof Zimbili
Ngobese, Prof Nomali Ziphorah
Van Der Merwe, Prof Nico
Van Dyk, Prof Tobias Johannes

An election will now proceed on 18 October 2023.






Ms Amanda van der Merwe
Director: Corporate and Information Governance Services


+27 (0)18 299 4607