Council ladingpage-NWU, Governance and Management


Governance Structures


The Council governs the university in terms of chapter 4 of the Act, the regulations and policies issued in terms of the Act, the Statute and the Rules, including, at a minimum, the adoption of purpose and value statements as well as strategic plans, determination of policy, making the Statute, the Rules, the processes, the delegations of authority, the monitoring of operational performance and management, and establishing committees and, together with the senate, joint committees, to ensure that the university achieves its purpose and values.

Notice to permanent academic staff of the North-West University who are not members of the Senate

Nomination of a member of the Council of the North-West University from the ranks of the permanent[1] academic staff (who is not a member of Senate) in terms of paragraph 4(1)(d) of the Statute


The first term of Prof Jan van Romburgh as member of Council expires on 15 March 2021 and nominations are hereby invited for the election of a person from the ranks of the permanent academic staff as member of the Council in terms of paragraph 4(1)(d) of the Statute and the enclosed rules as approved by Council on 28 July 2020 and available at

Written nominations on the form included herewith, seconded by at least two members of the permanent academic staff (and not being members of Senate), and signed by the nominee him-/herself, who is a permanent member of the academic staff and not a member of Senate, must reach the office of the Registrar, Prof Marlene Verhoef, via e-mail to on or before 16:30 on 12 February 2021.

Click here and download the notice and nomination form -  download and save the form (it does not open correctly in the web browser), complete and e-mail to the  e-mail address as stipulated above.

Nominations close on 12 February 2021 at 16:30.




[1] For purposes of participating in this election process, an eligible employee is a permanent employee (has no service end date other than retirement) and any other employee who has a contract of employment with the University for more than three months.  To be eligible for nomination in this election process, an employee must still have a contract of employment for 3 years or more, as the nominee must be able to serve a full term on Council (this is linked to the terms on Council that is three years).