Annual newsletters & communication, Convocation


Annual newsletters & communication

The Convocation uses a number of communication channels to stay in touch with members and to provide feedback on Convocation meetings and activities. These include the alumni magazine, website and personal communication concerning urgent university matters.

A new Executive Committee for the NWU Convocation was elected at the Triennial General Meeting of the Convocation on 23 August 2014


The final results for the new Exco of the Convocation were as follows:


Dr Sammy Thekiso (psychologist, Potchefstroom)


Dr Dirk Hermann (CEO, Solidarity)


Prof Marius Stander (psychologist and lecturer at the Vaal Triangle Campus)

Members of Exco:

Mr Werner Human (attorney, Hurter Spies Inc., Centurion)
Adv Marlize Kruger (law consultant and facilitator Potchefstroom)
Mr Nelson Mongale (special advisor for industrial strategy, Gabarone Engineering Consulting, Vanderbijlpark)
Mr Albert Sorgdrager (group advisor for litigation and     disputes, Nedbank, Johannesburg)
Mr Henk Schalekamp (Chairman Solidarity Investment Company, Pretoria)


Front from left to right:  Dr Dirk Hermann,  Dr Sammy Thekiso, Prof Marius Stander, Adv Marelize Kruger 

Back from left to right:  Mnr Henk Schalekamp, Mnr Albert Sorgdrager, Mnr Werner Human, Mnr Nelson Mongale


The next Triennial General Meeting of the Convocation will be held in 2017.


Election of member of the Convocation to Council

Notice is hereby given of the outcome of a voting process that took place in accordance with Paragraph 38 of the NWU Statute by means of which a member of the NWU Convocation had to be designated to serve on the Council in accordance with Par 4(1)(i) of the Statute.

  • A due process was followed for the nomination and voting process after the vacancy left on 20 September 2015 when the first term of office of Advocate M Kruger expired due to the effluxion of time.
  • The recent voting process (as audited) to elect a member of the Convocation to the NWU Council yielded the result that Prof AL (Annette) Combrink-Loots has been duly elected and is hereby designated to serve on the NWU Council for a first term, until 7 October 2018.