Alumni Awards 2015

NWU honours outstanding alumni


The 2015 Alumni awards took place on 9 October. Awards were made in six categories, namely Arts and Culture, Business leadership, Community Involvement, Education, Research and Sport. A Young Alumnus Award was also awarded in recognition of professional excellence displayed by an alumnus, 35 years or younger.

This year’s recipients include a best-selling author, Mr Deon Meyer, a leader in assurance, Mr Pule Mothibe, a manager in community upliftment, Prof Elain Vlok, an international researcher and academic, Prof Anis Karodia, a professor in Botany, Prof Braam van Wyk, a commonwealth medalist, Ms Sunette Viljoen and a renowned singer and television host, Mr Katlego Maboe.

The 2015 recipients follow in the illustrious footsteps of great alumni such as the late Prof TT Cloete, Mr FW de Klerk, Judge Yvonne Mokgoroe, Dr Bismark Tyobeka, the late Adv Jan Henning, Prof Pieter Stoker and Mr Alec Moemi among others.