Research Entities | Research Support

Research Centres of Excellence

Entity Director

Centre of Excellence for Nutrition (CEN) Prof Marius Smuts
Centre for Space Research Prof Stefan Ferreira
Centre of Excellence for Pharmaceutical Sciences (PharMaCen) Prof Jeanetta du Plessis
Hypertension in Africa Research Team (HART) Prof Hugo Huisman


Research Units

Entity Director

Unit for Language and Literature in the South African Context Prof  Attie de Lange
Unit for Business Mathematics and Informatics (BMI) Prof Magda Huisman
Unit for Environmental Sciences and Management (UESM) Prof Nico Smit
Unit for Reformational Theology and the Development of the South African Society Prof Ferdi Kruger
Research Unit for Law, Justice and Sustainability Prof Willemien du Plessis
Unit for Energy and Technology Systems Prof Liezl van Dyk
Africa Unit for Trans-disciplinary Health Research (AUTHeR) Prof Petra Bester
WorkWell: Research Unit for Economic & Management Sciences Prof Pieter Buys
Education and Human Rights in Diversity (Edu-HRight)  Prof JP Rossouw
Tourism Research in Economic, Environs and Society (TREES) Prof Melville Saayman


Research Focus Areas

Entity Director

Ancient Texts: Text, Context and Reception Prof Hans van Deventer
Chemical Resource Benefication CRB) Prof Manie Vosloo
Community Psychosocial Research (Compres) Prof Herman Grobler
Enabling Optimal Expression of Individual, Social and Institutional Potential (OPTENTIA) Prof Ian Rothmann
Human Metabolomics Prof du Toit Loots
Material Science Innovation an Modelling (MaSIM) Prof Eno Ebenso
Physical Activity, Sport and Recreation (PhASRec) Prof Hanlie Moss
Population and Health Prof Yaw Amoateng (acting)
Quality in Nursing and Midwifery (INSINQ) Prof Karin Minnie
Self Directed Learning (SDL) Prof Elsa Mentz
Social Transformation Prof Lida Holtzhousen (acting)
Trade and Development (TRADE) Prof Wilma Viviers
Understanding & Processing Language in Complex Settings (UPSET) Prof Bertus v Rooy


Research Niche Areas

Entity Director

Edu-Lead Prof Jan Heystek
Food Security and Safety Prof Olubukola Babalola
Global Innovative Focussed Talent (GIFT) Prof Nicolene Barkhuizen
Indigenous Language Media in Africa (ILMA) Prof Abiodun Salawu
Lifestyle Diseases Prof Ushotanefe Useh
Medicine Usage in South Africa (MUSA) Prof Martie Lubbe
Multilingual Speech Technologies (MuST) Prof Marelie Davel
Musical Arts in South Africa: Resources and Applications (MASARA) Dr Albi Odendaal
Occupational Hygiene and Health Research Initiative (OHHRI) Prof Johan du Plessis (JL)
Technology-Enhanced Learning and Innovative Education and Training, South Africa (TELIT-SA) Prof Seugnet Blignaut
Visual Narratives and Creative Outputs through Interdisciplinary and Practice-led Research Dr Rita Swanepoel


Hosted Research Entities (Centre, Platform, Institute)

Entity Director

DST HySA Infrastructure Centre of Competence in Hydrogen production, storage, reticulation and safety codes and standards Dr Dmitri Bessarabov
DST/NWU  Pre-Clinical Drug Development Platform (PCDDP) Prof Anne Grobler
dti Centre for Advanced Manufacturing Mr Danie Vorster
DST Centre of Excellence in Indigenous Knowledge Systems Prof Simeon Materechera
Centre for Human Metabonomics Prof Chris Vorster


Commercial Research Entities

Entity Director

Centre for Pharmaceutical & Biomedical Services

Prof Banie Boneschans


Research Chairs


Astrophysics and Space Physics (SARChI) Prof Markus Bottcher
Coal Research (SARChI) Prof John Bunt
Biofuels and other clean alternative fuels (SARChI) Prof Sanette Marx
Nuclear Engineering (SARChI) Prof Jat du Toit
Early Detection and Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease in Africa (SARChI) Prof Alta Schutte
EDTP SETA research chair in early childhood education Prof Rosemarie Wildsmith-Cromarty
Eskom Power Plant Engineering Institute - Emissions Control Prof Hein Neomagus & Stuart Piketh
Nutricia Research foundation in Clinical  Nutrition Prof Rene Blaauw
World Trade Organisation chair Prof Wilma Viviers