The first Alumni Awards were presented in 2013.

Time is running out for Alumni Award nominations

The NWU boasts many outstanding alumni who have made their mark in society and we need your nominations so that we can once again acknowledge their excellence through our Alumni Awards.

By now, you have most likely received emails and text messages from the institutional alumni office, asking you to nominate deserving candidates before 7 June. Well, if you have not yet done so, you have only one more week to do so.


You can nominate candidates for these awards:


  • NWU Alumni Awards of Excellence (categories: Research, Education, Community Involvement, Business Leadership, Arts and Culture, Sport, Public Service)

  • Young NWU Alumnus Award


Please note that current members of the NWU’s Council, the executive committee of the Convocation and the institutional management may not be nominated for the awards.


You can click here to read more about each of the awards and to access the electronic nomination form. Should you think you stand a chance to receive an Alumni Award, you can also ask someone else to nominate you.

So, do not hesitate to become part of our nomination process – time is running out.


The NWU & U


Please send us your comments, suggestions and any other contributions you would like to make, for instance photographs or news snippets.


We value your opinions and input – after all, the NWU & U belongs to us all.


Shining stars


Some of the illustrious alumni who have received Alumni Awards in the past include FW de Klerk, Bismarck Tyobeka, Deon Meyer, Judge Yvonne Mokgoro, Prof TT Cloete and Katlego Maboe. Click here to see the lists of previous winners.


NWU & U  |



Time is running out for