Prof Welma Lubbe from the Faculty of Health Sciences, Dr Carolina Botha from the Faculty of Education and Prof Roelien Goede from the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences are the Distinguished Teaching Excellence Award recipients.


The North-West University celebrated the cream of its lecturing crop during its Institutional Teaching Excellence Awards ceremony (ITEA). Acknowledging the best lecturers, this annual event took place on 19 April in Potchefstroom.

Prof Alfred Henrico, last year’s DTEA Award winner, gave an inspirational presentation about his teaching and learning methods. He explained how instead of dividing his students into groups he divides them into “businesses”, with students taking on important business roles in completing tasks and projects.

Prof Robert Balfour, deputy vice-chancellor for teaching and learning, congratulated the winners and thanked them for the value they are adding to the quality of teaching and learning.

Three women took top honours during the awards ceremony. Dr Carolina Botha of the Faculty of Education, Prof Roelien Goede of the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences and Prof Welma Lubbe of the Faculty of Health Sciences excelled as lecturers and received coveted Distinguished Teaching Excellence Awards.


Awards were presented in three categories, namely the Emerging Teaching Excellence Award (ETEA), the Teaching Excellence Award (TEA) and the Distinguished Teaching Excellence Award (DTEA). This is the fourth year that the awards have been given in these three categories.


Faculties celebrate their best


Fifty-one academics received awards. The NWU faculties that produced the most winners overall were the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences and the Faculty of Health Sciences, each with 12 awards. The Faculty of Theology was third with eight awards.


The awards are presented to show appreciation to lecturers for their commitment and dedication to student success and also to encourage academics to develop in the field of teaching and learning.




Click here to read the full article and

see the complete list of winners.


  • ETEA

    The ETEA rewards emerging lecturers for excellent teaching.

  • TEA

    The TEA is awarded to lecturers who have exceptional and proven achievements in teaching excellence.

  • DTEA

    The DTEA commends distinguished scholars for leadership and achievement in the scholarship of teaching and learning. Participants in the awards must comply with at least 80% of the criteria in the individual categories.

Click here to find out what the three categories entail.

In the video below our three winners tell us what the award means to them and how it impacts their careers.