The NWU honoured the cream of the crop of its alumni at an awards ceremony on 6 October in Sandton. This year’s awards ceremony included the prestigious NWU Lifetime Achievement Award, and also recognised an NWU alumna who has excelled in the international arena in 2017.

of the alumni crop


NWU honours

Miss South Africa is an NWU Ambassador


Miss South Africa Demi-Leigh Nel-Peters is the recipient of this year’s NWU Ambassador Award for representing the university and South Africa in the international arena.


She follows in the footsteps of last years’ Ambassador Award recipients which included Caster Semenya, Sunette Viljoen, Willem Coertzen, Elroy Gelant, Terseus Liebenberg and Jean Verster.

This year marked the fifth year that the Alumni Awards were given. The coveted Lifetime Achievement Award went to the former rector of the then Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education (PU for CHE), Prof Tjaart van der Walt.

Prof Van der Walt served in this capacity from 1977 to 1987 and completed a BA degree at the university in 1951. It is the third time that this prestigious award has been given in  recognition  of exceptional achievements. Previous recipients include former president, Mr FW de Klerk and former vice-chancellor of the NWU, Dr Theuns Eloff.

Other renowned alumni who were honoured include a cultural leader, successful entrepreneur, renowned theologian, ground-breaker in education, dynamic lawman, revered researcher, exceptional journalist and a coaching expert. (See text box.)

Hover over the text to read more.

Click on the names to read more.

And the winners are...

  • Prof Tjaart van der Walt

    Prof Tjaart van der Walt, former rector of the PU for CHE and exceptional leader, Lifetime Achievement Award (click here to read more).

  • Dr Frits Kok

    Dr Frits Kok, cultural bridge-builder and influential member of the Afrikaans Language and Culture Organisation (ATKV), Arts and Culture Award (click here to read more).

  • Tamsanqa Manzi

    Tamsanqa Manzi, successful entrepreneur and job creator, Community Involvement Award (click here to read more).

  • Prof Koos van Rooy

    Prof Koos van Rooy, theologian, missionary and Bible translator, Community Involvement Award (click here to read more).

  • Prof Kobus Pienaar

    Prof Kobus Pienaar, author and highly regarded expert in education, Education Award (click here to read more).

  • Dr Sejako Senatle SC

    Dr Sejako Senatle SC, people’s lawyer and dynamic lawman, Public Service Award (click here to read more).

  • Prof Rudi van Eldik

    Prof Rudi van Eldik, revered researcher and scientist, Research Award (click here to read more).

  • Dr Elsje Jordaan

    Dr Elsje Jordaan, well-known sport coaching specialist and pioneer in using digital platforms to analyse match trends, Sport Award (click here to read more).

  • Daniëlla van Heerden

    Daniëlla van Heerden, award-winning journalist, Young Alumnus Award (click here to read more).