The good work done by these participants in the Institutional Teaching Excellence Awards ceremony (ITEA) does not go unnoticed. Click he re to see who the winners in the different categories are.

Good work never goes unnoticed. This was emphasised during the Institutional Teaching Excellence Awards ceremony (ITEA) held on 20 April in Potchefstroom.

NWU recognises outstanding lecturers

Prof Alfred Henrico from the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences is the recipient of the Distinguished Teaching Excellence Award. With him are from left Prof Dan Kgwadi, vice-chancellor of the NWU, Prof Renier Jansen van Rensburg, director of the School of Business Management, and Prof Jan van Romburgh, acting dean of the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences.

The annual event gives recognition to the NWU’s best lecturers. This year top award went to a lecturer at the campus in Potchefstroom, Prof Alfred Henrico of the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences, who won the Distinguished Teaching Excellence Award (DTEA).


Award acknowledges hard work

“I feel honoured and grateful towards the NWU for this award. The university’s ITEA system is excellent. It is not only aimed at rewarding excellence in teaching, but also helps to develop the teaching skills of lecturers.” Alfred says he owes thanks to every colleague and student from whom he has learnt. “They helped me to develop – without them this would not have been possible.”


He considers the DTEA award a reward for his hard work and his focus on making a positive difference in students’ lives and to their development as the future leaders of South Africa.


Three categories for excellence

Awards were presented in three categories: the Emerging Teaching Excellence Award (ETEA), the Teaching Excellence Award (TEA) and the DTEA.


Forty-eight academics received awards. The NWU faculty that produced the most winners was Humanities on the campus in Vanderbijlpark, with eight winners. Next, in joint second place with six winners each, were the faculties of Arts and Health Sciences at the campus in Potchefstroom. That campus’s Faculty of Theology took third place with five awards.


The awards are made to show appreciation to lecturers for their commitment and dedication to student success, and to encourage academics to develop in the field of teaching and learning.

This is the third year that the awards have been presented in the three categories.


How excellence is measured

Participants in the awards must meet at least 80% of the criteria in the individual categories. They must submit a reflective portfolio as evidence of their teaching and learning activities, and are observed during at least two learning opportunities, one of which is unannounced.


TEA Award participants are also expected to make presentations at an annual campus or faculty colloquium on teaching and learning.


Their reflective portfolios are moderated by panels that consist of representatives of the Centre for Teaching and Learning (CTL) and CTL teaching advisors from the three campuses.


The reflective portfolios of DTEA winners are moderated internally and externally.


Excellence and innovation triumph

Prof Dan Kgwadi, vice-chancellor, says the NWU is very proud of the quality of its academics. “You are the reason that we can assure students of the best-quality lecturers.”


Guest speaker at the event, Dr Diane Parker, deputy-director general for university education of the Department of Higher Education and Training, commended the NWU’s academics for the excellent work they do to promote learning. “Your commitment to excellence and innovation and the passion you demonstrate in teaching and learning will definitely contribute to the success of your students and serves as an inspiration to all of us,” she said.

The good work done by these participants in the Institutional Teaching Excellence Awards ceremony (ITEA) does not go unnoticed. Click here to see who the winners in the different categories are.

  • ETEA award

    The ETEA rewards emerging lecturers for excellent teaching. These lecturers display a long-term vision for their professional and career development by means of exceptional and proven achievement towards innovation in teaching and learning in their field.

  • TEA award

    The TEA is awarded to lecturers who have exceptional and proven achievements in teaching excellence. They use innovative approaches to facilitate learning that inspires and challenges students.

  • DTEA award

    The DTEA commends distinguished scholars for leadership and achievement in the scholarship of teaching and learning. Excellence is endorsed by awarding the DTEA as a commendation within the category of TEA.