About us - Faculty of Human and Social Sciences, School of Social Sciences

School of Social Sciences

About us

The School of Social Sciences is part of the Faculty of Human and Social Sciences and comprise of the following programmes:

  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Psychology
  • Development Studies
  • Population and Demography
  • Indigenous Knowledge Systems
  • Sports Science.

Apart from the seven programmes The School of Social Sciences offers, the BSoc Sc.degree also has different areas to choose from.

The main focus of all the programmes is on psychological, social and economic growth and development with emphasis on the individual, groups, communities and society in general. It is committed to improving the lives of people by equipping learners with relevant skills and knowledge. The learners are also exposed to work experience to ensure that they are able to integrate theory and practice.

The School is committed to quality teaching, learning, research and community outreach and strives to contribute well-prepared human resources for South Africa and other countries enabling them to address the socio-economic challenges. 

Social work and Psychology are designed in accordance with the standards as set by the South African Council for Social Service Professions and the Health Professions Council of South Africa that regulate those professions.