About SMNE

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING      

School of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering

School Directors' message

Welcome to the School of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering. Our exciting profession is at the forefront of transformational innovations. The Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering programme maintains a good balance between training in the basic sciences, engineering science and design. Great emphasis is placed on creative design, in order to enable engineers to apply their knowledge in finding solutions for complicated problems.


We are grateful for your interest in Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering and we invite you to explore our academic programmes, student activities, and research pursuits.
 

Prof Harry Wichers

School structure and personnel

toop

 

 

Director

h_wichers

Prof Harry Wichers
Secretary: Me Sanette Loots
(018) 285 2512
Sanette.Stoop@nwu.ac.za
 

 

 

Undergraduate
Programme
Manager

prof_johan_markgraaff

Mr Jan Janse
van Rensburg

 

Postgraduate
Programme
Manager

 

prof_johan_markgraaff

 

Dr Jan-Hendrik Kruger
 

Lecturing Personnel

Surname, name and title Qualifications Expertise Profile Contact details
Besuidenhout, Ashwin Mr

B.Eng (Mech)

Lecturer in Training

 

Ashwin.Besuidenhout@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1663

Bosman, Johan Dr

B.Eng (Mech) M.Eng (Mech)
Ph.D (Eng)

Aerodynamics, Turbine design

 

Johan.Bosman@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4024

Cilliers, Joe-Nimique Mrs
 

B.Eng (Chem) M.Eng (Nuclear)

Hydrogen production and Nuclear Engineering
Curriculum Vitae

Joe.Cilliers@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1657

Dlamini, Motene Mr

B.Eng (Mech)

Lecturer in Training

 

Motene.Dlamini@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4025

Du Toit, Jat Prof

B.Eng (Hons) (Civ), M.Eng (Civ), Ph.D, Pr.Eng

Thermal flow, Numerical analysis
Curriculum Vitae

Jat.duToit@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1322

Human, Danie Mr

B.Eng (Mech)

Wind turbine design
 

 

Danie.Human@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4435

Janse van Rensburg, Jan Mr

B.Eng (Mech), M.Eng (Mech)

Mechatronics, Vibration, Image processing, Design Modeling and Simulation
Curriculum Vitae

 

Jan.JansevanRensburg@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4027

Jonker, Attie Dr

B.Sc (Maths & Applied Maths), B. Eng (Mech),
M.Eng (Mech), Pr.Eng
Ph.D (Eng)

Finite element methods, Strength of Materials, Composite materials, Machine Design, Aerodynaminvs, Aircraft design, Structural design, Flight Testing
Curriculum Vitae

Attie.Jonker@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1325

Jordaan, Pietman Mr

B.Sc (Mechanical Aeaonautics), B.Eng (Mechanical Aearonautics), M.Eng (Mech), Pr.Eng (ECSA)

Mechanical Design, Computer-aided Design (CAD)
Curriculum Vitae

Pietman.Jordaan@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1321

Kaiser, Werner Mr

B.Eng (Mech), M.Eng (Mech)

Energy Management

Curriculum Vitae

Werner.Kaiser@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1319

Kloppers, CP Mr

B.Eng (Mech.), M.Eng (Mech.)

Thermo system cycle design

 

CP.Kloppers@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4021

Kotole, Suna Miss

B.Eng (Mech)

Lecturer in Training

 

Suna.Kotole@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1663

Kruger, Jan-Hendrik Dr

B.Eng (Mech)
M.Eng (Mech)
Ph.D

Code and methods development for nuclear thermal-fluid analysis and simulation.

Curriculum Vitae

Janhendrik.Kruger@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4496

Markgraaff, Johan Prof

B.Sc, B.Sc (Hons.), M.Sc, Ph.D

Material Selection for Design
Curriculum Vitae

 

Johan.Markgraaff@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1658

Motlhakudi, Isaac Mr

B.Eng (Mech)

Lecturer in Training

 

Isaac.Motlhakudi@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1314

Mulder, Eben Prof

B.Sc (Math)
M.Sc (Math)
Ph.D (Eng)

Advanced Fuel Cycles in Nuclear Engineering
Curriculum Vitae

 

Eben.Mulder@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1524

Naicker, Vishnu Dr  

Nuclear Engineering, Simulation and Design

Vishnu Naicker@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4490

Nel, Carl Dr

NDI (Mech Eng),NHDI (Mech Eng),  M.Tech (Mech Eng), D.Tech (Mech Eng),

Machine Dynamics, Failure of metals
Curriculum Vitae

 

carlbnel@netactive.co.za

018 299 1315

Phahlamohlaka, Darryl Mr

B.Eng (Mech)

Lecturer in Training

 

Darryl.Phahlamohlaka@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1314

Rousseau, Pieter Prof

B.Eng (Mech)
M.Eng (Mech)
Ph.D (Eng)

Simulation
Curriculum Vitae

Pieter.Rousseau@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4492

Serfontein, Dawid Dr    

Dawid.Serfontein@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4493

Storm, Chris Prof

B.Eng (Mech), B.Eng (Hons.) (Mech), M.Ing(Mech), Ph.D (Mech)

Termal machines, thermo-cycle design and optimisation
Curriculum Vitae

 

Chris.Storm@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1345

Van Dyk, Liezl Dr

B.Eng (Industrial), M.Ing(Industrial), Dipl.HETP, Ph.D (Eng), Pr. Eng

Industrial and Systems Engineering, ICT enabled service delivery, Operations
Curriculum Vitae

 

liezl.vandyk@nwu.ac.za

Van Eldik, Martin Dr

B.Eng (Mech), M.Eng (Mech), Ph.D (Eng)

Thermo-fluid systems
Curriculum Vitae

Martin.vanEldik@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1324

Van Niekerk, Willem Mr

B.Eng (Chem), M.Eng (Chem)

Solarwaterheating
Curriculum Vitae

Willem.vanNiekerk@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1317

Van Schalkwyk, Peet Prof

B.Eng (Civ), M.Sc (Physics), Ph.D (Education)

Animations in Mathematics, Science and Technology
Curriculum Vitae

Peet.vanSchalkwyk@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4486

Venter, Philip Mr

B.Eng (Mech) M.Eng (Mech)

 

 

Philip.Venter@nwu.ac.za

018 299 2646

Vorster, Danie Mr

B.Eng (Mech)

Manufacturing Systems, Bio-beneficiation, Extruder design and manufacturing
Curriculum Vitae

 

Danie.Vorster@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1536

Wichers, Harry Prof

 

B.Eng (Mech), M.Eng (Mech), Ph.D (Eng), GCC (Mech), Pr. Eng

Sustainable Development, Systems Engineering, Plant Management
Curriculum Vitae

Harry.Wichers@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4283


Administrative and Laboratory Personnel

Surname, name and title Position Contact details
Benadè, Adri Miss

Engineering Education Laboratory Assistant

Adri.Benade@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1335

Combrinck, Ilze Ms

Financial and Administrative Officer: DTI CoE

Ilze.Combrinck@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1329

Danilatos, Bessie Ms

Postgraduate Administration: Nuclear Engineering

Bessie.Danilatos@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1355

Diobe, Thabo Mr

Laboratory Assistant

018 299 4433

Fourie, André Mr

Senior Technician

018 299 4433

Jacobs, Francina Ms

Administrive Assistant ( DST Research Chair)

22045102@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4479

Le Roux, Jorina Ms

Financial Officer

Jorina.leRoux@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1316

Loots, Sanette Me

Secretary: Undergraduate Administration

Sanette.Loots@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1313

Mgeshane, David Mr

Workshop Cleaner

018 299 1403

Naude, Sarel Mr

Laboratory Manager

Sarel.Naude@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1403

Tolmay, Pieter Mr

Manager: Technical Support and Engineering Education Laboratory

Pieter.Tolmay@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1335

Van der Merwe, Bartlo Mr

Workshop Manager

Bartlo.vanderMerwe@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4433

Van Tonder, Willem Mr

Senior Technician

Willem.vanTonder@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1354

Van Wyk, Lilian Ms

Short Course Manager

Lilian.VanWyk@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4363

Zietsman, Dalien Ms

Senior Administrative Assistant: Postgraduate Administration

 

Dalien.Zietsman@nwu.ac.za