About SEECE

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING      

School of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering

School Director’s message

Welcome to the School of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering. Our exciting profession is at the forefront of transformational innovations, such as cell phones, media players, lasers and computers – to name but a few. We provide a strong, rigorous curriculum that prepares students to enter the professional workforce and/or graduate studies. Our graduates are highly sought after by leading employers and the top graduate and professional schools in the country.

The School has excellent lecturers who are actively engaged in leading-edge research, giving them an awareness of emerging trends in technology that are infused throughout the classes we teach. We provide strong laboratory experiences over the course of the curriculum, culminating with a capstone experience where students work in design teams on real-world problems with an industry mentor.

I am grateful for your interest in Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering and invite you to explore our academic programmes, student activities, and research pursuits.

Prof G van Schoor


School Structure and Staff

 

Director

Prof George van Schoor

Secretary: Ms Elzeth Enslin
(018) 299 1978
Elzeth.Enslin@nwu.ac.za

 

 

Undergraduate Programme
Manager: Computer Engineering


Mr Henri Marais

Undergraduate Programme
Manager: Electrical & Electromechanical Engineering


Mr Warren Kukard

Postgraduate Programme
Manager


Dr Leenta Grobler

 

Lecturing Staff

Surname, name and title

Qualifications

Expertise

Profiles

Contact details

Alberts, Andreas Mr

 

Software  

Curriculum Vitae

 

Andreas.Alberts@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1964

De Kock, Jan Prof

B.Eng (Electrical), M.Eng (Electrical), Ph.D. (Eng), Pr.Eng

Power systems, electrical machines, electrical protection systems, energy efficiency

Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

Jan.deKock@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1970

Ferreira, Melvin Dr

B.Eng (C/E),
M.Eng (Comp),

Ph.D. (Eng)

Telecommunication systems, Radio Spectrum monitoring and management

 

melvin.ferreira@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1975

Gouws, Rupert Prof

B.Eng (E/E),
M. Eng (E/E),
Ph.D (Eng), Pr.Eng

Energy engineering, Electric Machines, Condition monitoring

Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

Rupert.Gouws@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1902

Grobler, Andre Dr

B.Eng (E/E),
M. Eng (E/E),
Ph.D. (Eng), Pr.Eng

Electric Machines,
Thermal modelling

Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

Andre.Grobler@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1976

Grobler, Leenta Dr

B.Eng (C/E),
M.Eng (Comp),

Ph.D. (Eng)

Computer Networks, Network Coding, Wireless Sensor Networks, Software Engineering, Engineering Education & Research Optimisation, Qualitative and Quantitative Research Methodologies

Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

Leenta.Grobler@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4058

Helberg, Albert Prof

B.Eng (E/E), M.Eng (E/E), Ph.D. (Eng)

Telecommunication and data networks

Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.pngNWU
Expert

Albert.Helberg@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1966018 299 196

Hennelly, Martin Mr

M.Eng (Electronic),

CEng

 

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

27074102@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1978

Hoffman, Alwyn Prof

B.Eng (E/E), B.Sc (Hons.) (Math), M.Eng (E/E), MBA, Ph.D. (Eng)

Signal processing
Artificial intelligence
Intelligent logistics and transport systems

Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

Alwyn.Hoffman@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1963

Holm, Johann Prof

B.Eng (E/E), M.Eng(E/E), Ph.D. (Eng)

Systems engineering, radio frequency design, engineering education

Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

Johann.Holm@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1965

Kukard, Warren Mr

B.Eng (E/E), M.Eng(E/E)

Energy Efficiency

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

Warren.Kukard@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1237

Marais, Henri Dr

B.Eng (C/E)
M.Eng (C/E)

Ph.D. (Eng)

Telecommunication and embedded systems, Systems engineering
Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

Henri.Marais@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1973

Rens, Johan Prof

B.Eng (E/E), M.Eng (E/E),
Ph.D (Eng)

Quality of electrical energy, energy efficiency

Curriculum Vitae

 

Johan.Rens@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1970

Uren, Kenny Prof

B.Eng (C/E), M.Eng (C/E), Ph.D. (Eng), Pr.Eng

Modelling of dynamic systems, control systems

Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

Kenny.Uren@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1236

Van der Merwe, Christo Mr

B.Eng (C/E), M.Eng (C/E)

Computer engineering
Systems engineering
Product development

Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

Christo.vanderMerwe@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1944

Van Huyssteen, Piet Mr

B. Tech

Automation Projects

Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.png

Piet.vanHuyssteen@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1960

Van Schoor, George Prof

B.Eng (E/E), M.Eng (E/E), Ph.D. (Eng), Pr.Eng

Modelling and control, power electronics, magnetic bearings

Curriculum Vitae

http://www.nwu.ac.za/sites/www.nwu.ac.za/files/files/p-fe/images/Social%20media/linkedin.jpg.pngNWU
Expert

George.vanSchoor@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1962

Van Vuuren, Pieter Prof

B.Eng (E/E), M.Eng (E/E), Ph.D (Eng), Pr.Eng

Patern recognition, image processing, control systems

Curriculum Vitae

 

Pieter.vanVuuren@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1901

Venter, Willie Prof

B.Eng (E/E), M.Eng (E/E), PhD (Ing)

Digital signal processing, software

Curriculum Vitae

 

Willie.Venter@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1971

 

Administrative and Laboratory Personnel

Surname, name and title

Position

Contact details

Cilliers, Louise Ms

Finances

Louise.Cilliers@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1903

Tsolo, Jarone Mr

Assistant

28217772@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1978

Enslin, Elzeth Ms

Administrative Assistant

Elzeth.Enslin@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1978

Mothlosane, Kenneth Mr

Assistant

Kenneth.Mothlosane@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1978

Trumpelmann, Manfred Mr

Senior Technician

Manfred.Trumpelmann@nwu.ac.za

018 299 4297