About SCME

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING      

School of Chemical and Minerals Engineering

School Director’s message

The School of Chemical and Minerals Engineering of the Potchefstroom campus of the North-West University stands firmly on two legs – Chemical engineering and Minerals processing. Since both the chemical and mining industries are of the largest GDP contributors in the country, both these study possibilities ensure excellent job opportunities and many of our alumni fulfill exciting and challenging career positions. The chemical or minerals processing engineer may be active in any part of the engineering process - from the initiating development of an idea to the selling and final product handling.


Our highly committed staff will ensure that each student, when leaving the university, will be fully equipped to tackle all challenges that industry could present. Those individuals who however wish to further their studies will find that an academic career can be just as exciting as one in industry.

Be one of the elite engineering groups in the country!

Prof FB Waanders

School Structure and Personnel

 

Director

 
Prof Frans Waanders
 

Secretary: Ms Annieta Bok
(018) 299 1998
Annieta.Bok@nwu.ac.za

 

Undergraduate Programme
Manager


Dr Marco le Roux

 

Postgraduate Programme
Manager


Prof Sanette Marx

Lecturing Personnel

Surname, name and title Qualifications Expertise Profiles Contact details
Branken, Dawie Mr

B.Sc (Ind. Sc), M.Sc (Chemistry)

Separation Science, Polymer Science and Membrane Technology
Curriculum Vitae

Dawie.Branken@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1953

 

Campbell, Quentin Prof

B.Sc (Chem Eng), M.Sc (Chem Eng), Ph.D (Eng)

Coal processing, Minerals processing, Training at industries (short courses)
Curriculum Vitae

Quentin.Campbell@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1993

Conradie, Frikkie Mr

B.Eng (Chem),
M.Eng (Nuc)

Fixed Bed Gasification, Simulation, Process Economics, Engineering Education
Curriculum Vitae

 

Frikkie.Conradie@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1761

Du Toit, Hannes Mr

NHD.Eng, PBL

Project-directed education
Curriculum Vitae

Hannes.duToit@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1361

Fosso-Kenkeu, Elvis Dr

B.Sc (Biochem), B-Tech (Biotech), M-Tech (Biotech), D-Tech (Metallurgy)

Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Extraction Metallurgy
Curriculum Vitae

 

24838616@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1659

Kaitano, Rufaro Dr

B-Tech (Hons)(Applied Chem & Chem Tech), M.Sc (Chem Eng), Ph.D (Eng)

Coal Conversion (combustion/ gasification Kinetics), Waste material utilisation
Curriculum Vitae

Rufaro.Kaitano@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1664

Le Roux, Marco Dr

B.Eng (Chem), M.Eng (Chem), Ph.D (Eng)

Fine coal processing and filtration, Membranes
Curriculum Vitae

Marco.leRoux@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1990

Marx, Sanette Prof

B.Eng (Chem), M.Eng (Chem), Ph.D (Eng)

Biofuel research, Membrane technology
Curriculum Vitae

Sanette.Marx@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1995

Modiri, Nthabising Mrs

B.Eng (Chem)

Lecturer in Training

 

Ntabiseng.Modi@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1662

Moyakhe, Dumisane Mr

B.Eng (Chem)

Lecturer in Training

 

Dumisane.Moyakhe@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1999

Neomagus, Hein Prof

Ph.D (Eng)

Coal conversion, Membrane technology, Kinetics
Curriculum Vitae

Hein.Neomagus@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1991

Schabort, Corneels Mr

B.Eng (Chem)

Separation technology, Refining (oil), Biofuels
Curriculum Vitae

Corneels.Schabort@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1760

Van Coller, Ruveix Mr

B.Eng (Chem), M.Eng (Chem), LLB

Biofuels
Curriculum Vitae

 

Ruveix.Vancoller@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1660

Van der Merwe, Frikkie Mr

B.Eng (Chem), MBA

Hydrogen conversion, Cement technology
Curriculum Vitae

 

Frikkie.vanderMerwe@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1987

Waanders, Frans Prof

B.Sc, M.Sc, D.Sc

Coal, Mineralogy, Gasification, Mossbauer research
Curriculum Vitae

NWU
Expert

Frans.Waanders@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1994

 

Research Personnel

Surname, name and title Expertise Contact details
Bunt, John Prof

Coal, Mineralogy, Gasification, Mossbauer research
Curriculum Vitae

John.Bunt@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1376

Everson, Ray Prof

Curriculum Vitae

Ray.Everson@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1986

Roberts, Mokone Mr

Coal modelling
Curriculum Vitae

Mokone.Roberts@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1999

 

Administrative and Laboratory Personnel

Surname, name and title Position Contact details
Bok, Annieta Ms

Secretary

Annieta.Bok@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1998

Botes, Sanet Ms

Senior Administrative Assistant: Finances

Sanet.Botes@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1656

Brock, Adrian Mr

Technician

Adrian.Brock@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1989

de Koker, Eleanor Ms

Senior Administrative Assistant

Eleanor.deKoker@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1377

Kroeze, Jan Mr

Senior Technician

Jan.Kroeze@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1989

Lemmer, Nico Mr

Laboratory Manager

Nico.Lemmer@nwu.ac.za

018 299 1661

Mofokeng, Elias Mr

Assistant

018 299 1988

Mofokeng, Philip Mr

Administrative Assistant/Messenger

018 299 1998

Paarlberg, Ted Mr

Assistant

018 299 1989

Roberts, Mokone Joseph Mnr

Assistant

018 299 1997

Tlhone, Jakob Mr

Assistant

018 299 1989

Van Rensburg, Gideon Mr

 Technical Laboratory Assistant

018 299 1652