VTC Student Representative Council - About us


About us

The Campus Student Representative Council (CSRC) plays a very important role on the campus as it represents the student community at large. The CSRC serves to engage students in learning about democracy and leadership. The NWU Vaal Triangle Campus offers students an exceptionally rich range of study choices at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Our offerings span the spectrum of academic disciplines, including public and social services, language practice and communication, psychology, labour relations, financial service industries, information technology, business mathematics and statistics, informatics, accounting, economics, business management, marketing, education and sport sciences.
While giving students great flexibility in their choices, our campus actively encourages diversity and produces graduates who are not only academically proficient but also socially conscious and committed to positive change in South Africa.    


Why the establishment of the SRC?


The SRC is a governance structure mandated by the Higher Education Act No. 101 of 1997 and the NWU Statute. The Act stipulates that the establishment and composition, manner of election, term of office, functions and privileges of the Student Representative Council of a Public Higher Education Institution must be determined by the Institutional Statute.      



The Campus SRC:

  • Represents the entire student population of the campus.
  • Embraces the vision, mission and strategic plan of the NWU.
  • Upholds the values of the NWU and its students, namely Integrity, Accountability, Commitment and Respect.
  • Serves the student’s interests in a way that is in line with the vision and mission of the university and that will not offend anyone, whether a student or a member of management.
  • Acts as a mediator between management and students.
  • Acts as the mouthpiece of the students of the NWU Vaal Triangle Campus.
  • Defends the good name of the university.
  • Protects the image of the university.




The CSRC has the following portfolios:

1.    Executive portfolio
a.    Chairperson (President)
b.    Vice-Chairperson  (Vice-President)
c.    Secretary-General
d.    Deputy Secretary-General
e.    Treasurer

2.    Open Portfolio
a.    Academic Officer
b.    Transformation Officer
c.    Health and Safety Officer
d.    Residence Officer
e.    Constitution and Societies Officer
f.    Arts  and Culture Officer
g.    Sports Officer
h.    Projects Officer
i.    Public Relations Officer (PRO)