1st NWU Biennial Research and Innovation Conference

NWU Event

Event Title: 
1st NWU Biennial Research and Innovation Conference
Tuesday, 27 November 2018 - 8:00am to Thursday, 29 November 2018 - 5:00pm

Positioning the NWU for Research & Innovation Excellence, Visibility and Impact: A conference for researchers by researchers, maximizing on successes, strengths and opportunities. 




Mr Imraan Patel

Mr Imraan Patel is a public policy and strategy manager with a focus on innovation, inclusive development, sustainability, social and economic development, and public management and governance. He is the deputy director-general of the Department of Science and Technology. His responsibilities include strategically driving a portfolio of investments and policies that advance the social and economic development priorities of government. Imraan is a board member of the Water Research Commission and Trade and Industrial Policy Strategies. 

Mr Mahlubi Mabizela

Mr Mahlubi Mabizela is the chief director for university education policy and development in the Department of Higher Education and Training. He is responsible for the measurement or research outputs from universities, research development and the regulation, governance and transformation of the higher education sector, among others. Earlier in his career, he was a researcher at the University of the Western Cape and the Human Sciences Research Council. Mahlubi holds a Master’s of Education (MEd) degree from the University of the Western Cape.

Ms Ruth Roberts

Ms Ruth Roberts is the director for international scholarships at the Department of Higher Education and Training. Her team continuously works on opening up new possibilities for international scholarships for academically excellent South Africans. They also directly supports over 300 South Africans at international institutions on various partner-government scholarships. Ruth has been at the department for over ten years. Before starting to focus fulltime on managing scholarships programmes two years ago, she worked in international relations. 

Prof Ahmed Bawa

Prof Ahmed Bawa, a theoretical physicist, leads Universities South Africa. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of South Africa as well as the Academy of Science of South Africa. He was one of the inaugural vice-presidents of the academy and is a current council member of this organisation.  Prof Ahmed served on a number of policy development teams in the areas of science and technology and higher education in the post-1994 period. He holds a PhD in theoretical Physics from the University of Durham.

Prof Jonathan Jansen

Prof Jonathan Jansen is distinguished professor of education at the University of Stellenbosch. He holds a PhD from Stanford University. Prof Jonathan was recently a fellow at the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford. He is also president of the Academy of Science of South Africa.  He is the author of the award-winning book, Knowledge in the Blood, and his forthcoming books include Inequality in South African schools (with Nic Spaull) and The Politics of Decolonization.

Dr Phethiwe Matutu

Dr Phethiwe Matutu is the group executive for strategy planning and partnerships of the National Research Foundation. Her career includes 16 years in academia at various institutions including Rhodes University, Stellenbosch University and University of Cape Town (UCT). Dr Phethiwe previously worked as chief director for human capital and science promotion at the Department for Science and Technology. Her duties included overseeing human capital development related entities and the drafting of legislation. She holds a PhD in mathematics from UCT. 

Prof Stephanie Burton

Prof Stephanie Burton is vice-principal for research and postgraduate education at the University of Pretoria. Her research interests are in applied biochemistry and biotechnology and she holds an NRF B rating. Prof Stephanie is a fellow of the Royal Society of South Africa and a member of the council of the Academy of Science of South Africa. She has published widely and supervised many postgraduate students. Prof Stephanie holds an MSc degree in organic chemistry and a PhD in biochemistry from Rhodes University.  

Ms Dorothy Ngila

Ms Dorothy Ngila a project specialist at the National Research Foundation’s (NRF’s) Strategy, Planning and Business Unit.  She coordinates the NRF’s contribution to the Science Granting Councils Initiative in sub-Saharan Africa. Dorothy serves as chair of the Organisation for Women in Science for the Developing World’s South African National Chapter. She is also co-chair of the Global Research Council Gender Working Group. She holds a master’s degree in geography and environmental management and a BA degree in public administration and environmental sciences. 

Prof Olubukola O Babalola

Prof Olubukola O Babalola is the vice-president of the Organisation for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD). Her research focuses on molecular plant-microbe interactions. Prof Olubukola is part of international collaborations and is the proud recipient of many awards. Her wealth of international experience spans Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania. She holds a PhD in microbiology with the Visiting Research Fellowship of the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture and the Postgraduate Training Fellowships of OWSD.

Mr Dale Towert

Mr Dale Towert is the senior manager and head of Research Intelligence in the Research and Innovation Division at the University of Johannesburg (UJ). Dale’s career spans over 20 years in higher education, divided between information technology and research management. He is responsible for UJ’s research information systems and sourcing, analysing and compiling bibliometric and other research intelligence for evidence-based strategic decision support. He holds a BTech degree in information systems and a postgraduate diploma in IT Law, among others.



Download the programme


Register by downloading the registration form. (Please download the form and open in Adobe Reader from your computer/device)

Contact details: